Welcome To TranceSounds: No.1 Place For Live Radio Sets


All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
  Print view

FMIC with VF39 turbo?
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Oct 09, 2010 1:51 am 
Offline
Newb
Newb

Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 1:36 pm
Posts: 27
How much of a difference in RPM will I have if I throw a FMIC on my sti? I'm still getting the tune done but want to know if there will be a big difference esp if I'm pushing more PSI. I would just like to know some insights and whats the RPM difference between the Top mount and FM.


Top
Digg: FMIC with VF39 turbo?  Digg: FMIC with VF39 turbo?  Digg: FMIC with VF39 turbo?  Digg: FMIC with VF39 turbo?
  
 

PostPosted: Sat Oct 09, 2010 2:16 am 
Offline
Suby Addict
Suby Addict
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2008 8:29 pm
Posts: 529
Location: Fayetteville,NC
If you do this, you will lose power. Get a larger top mount. There is definately no need for a front mount while you still have a VF39.

_________________
"Enemy AC-130 Above!!!"


Top
Digg: FMIC with VF39 turbo?  Digg: FMIC with VF39 turbo?  Digg: FMIC with VF39 turbo?  Digg: FMIC with VF39 turbo?
  
 

PostPosted: Sat Oct 09, 2010 11:43 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 10:34 am
Posts: 1995
Really not too much need to go larger tmic and the STi tmic is pretty efficient and often cools better than larger pieces. I've pushed the limits on the STi tmic to over 400whp and that was while running auto-xing, TT, and HPDE's. The same heatsoak you want to eliminate will still occur with the larger tmic, but the larger tmic holds more heat due to convection and the larger surface area.

The VF39 isn't enough to support the fmic either. I wouldn't consider the fmic until I was at least using larger than a 20g in terms of turbo sizing.

_________________
The grass is always greenest over the septic tank.

I get down with flat tires


Top
Digg: FMIC with VF39 turbo?  Digg: FMIC with VF39 turbo?  Digg: FMIC with VF39 turbo?  Digg: FMIC with VF39 turbo?
  
 

PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2010 10:18 pm 
Offline
Newb
Newb

Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 9:47 pm
Posts: 19
STiBowen wrote:
If you do this, you will lose power. Get a larger top mount. There is definately no need for a front mount while you still have a VF39.


I agree and disagree. While a front mount isn't necessary, it will always be beneficial. Colder air is never a bad thing, and frankly the spool isn't much different at all.

I say just go with an STi TMIC. Cant go wrong there, and you can usually find good deals on NASIOC.

_________________
Oh yes....its a bugeye.


Top
Digg: FMIC with VF39 turbo?  Digg: FMIC with VF39 turbo?  Digg: FMIC with VF39 turbo?  Digg: FMIC with VF39 turbo?
  
 

PostPosted: Fri Oct 15, 2010 8:08 am 
Offline
Twinke
Twinke
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 4:19 pm
Posts: 1305
Location: Kansas City
everyone knows i rocked a FMIC w/ my vf39...but i also had a ton of other crap done as well....

_________________
"A wise man once said: "Nitrous is like a hot chick with STD's... You wanna hit it, but you're afraid of the outcome."

Dustin


Top
Digg: FMIC with VF39 turbo?  Digg: FMIC with VF39 turbo?  Digg: FMIC with VF39 turbo?  Digg: FMIC with VF39 turbo?
  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Liquid Black Designed ByAndrew
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ] - It is currently Wed Jan 17, 2018 4:12 pm